Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Australian players in the world rankings

In the FISTF world rankings of May 2013, Gerald Brightwell is ranked 234th in the veterans section.
John Devaney is 577th in the Open section and 140th in the veterans.
Australians players in the WASPA ranking of May 2013 are ranked as follows:
45 Mike Newton (England/Flinders TFC) 38,80
47 Brett Davis (Emu Heights Bundesliga TFC) 38,40
48 Eliot Kennedy (Northern Falcons TFC) 38,00
68 Steve Dettre (Northern Falcons TFC) 30,80
94 Gerald Brightwell (West London TFC) 22,75
105 Robert Green (Team Subbuteo Stockholm) 20,00
117 Anthony Ilacqua (no club) 18,40
125 Carl  Young (Subbuteo Melbourne) 17,00
127 John Devaney (Lincoln Flickers SC) 16,60
169 Jay Porter (no club) 11,80
170 Paul Magee (no club) 11,60
197 Searle Batten (Subbuteo Melbourne) 9,00
227 Braydan Howell (Bolivia/no club) 7,60
284 Nick Drage (no club) 5,60
292 Eial Donnenfeld (Subbuteo Melbourne) 5,00
292 Martin Murgolo (no club) 5,00
329 Adam Deverell (Subbuteo Melbourne) 4,20
329 Trent Fernandes (no club) 4,20
333 John Sexton (Hamilton SC) 4,00
380 Benji Batten (Subbuteo Melbourne) 3,40
380 Aaron Daniels (no club) 3,40
395 Matthew Murgolo (no club) 3,00
395 Luke Radziminski (Subbuteo Melbourne) 3,00
412 Cameron Toazell (no club) 2,80
417 Tom Nowacki (Subbuteo Melbourne) 2,60
468 Marlon Faner (no club) 1,00
468 Alex Fleig (no club) 1,00
468 Braiden Graw (no club) 1,00
468 Mitchell Schroder (no club) 1,00

Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Australian players competing in Harrow Weald

Two Aussies attented the WASPA tournament in Harrow Weald (England). 18 players from 5 nationalities in total were taking part and players were divided in four groups. Both John Devaney and Gerald Brightwell ended third in groups of four players. John lost to Steve George and Terry Arnold and tied with Jonathan Lopez-Real. Gerald lost to Kevin Cordell and Vasilis Vavourakis from Cyprus but beat Matthias Peterschinigg. In the consolation tournament, Gerald lost his quarter-final to Matthew Henry while John beat Kye Arnold and then lost to Matthew Henry.

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Good games for Gerald Brightwell in Birmingham

Gerald Brightwell attended the English Grand Prix in Birmingham on May 5 & 6. In the individual tournament, Gerald played in the veterans section and was dropped in the only group of five. He lost to Scotland's Tom Burns (0-1), Wales's Richard Stock (1-2) and England's Rob McCormick (0-3) but beat John Bottomley from England (4-0). On sunday Gerald played the team event as a member of the Manchster TFC club. He lost to Yorkshire Phoenix's Martin Hodds (4-0), beat Rob McCormick of Kent Invicta (1-0) and lost to Mike Parnaby, the caption of NETFA Teesside (0-4). At least it was a good tournament and Gerald gained experience. His next tournament should be the WASPA tournament in Harrow Weald on May 19.

Friday, 3 May 2013

Australian players in the world rankings

In the FISTF world rankings of April 2013, Gerald Brightwell is 229th in the veterans.

In the WASPA ranking of April 2013, Australian players are ranked as follows:
43 Brett Davis 38,40
44 Eliot Kennedy 38,00
60 Steve Dettre 30,80
94 Gerald Brightwell 21,75
100 Robert Green 20,00
108 Anthony Ilacqua 18,40
114 Carl  Young 17,00
162 Jay Porter 11,80
163 Paul Magee 11,60
188 Searle Batten 9,00
267 Nick Drage 5,60
273 Martin Murgolo 5,00
273 Eial Donnenfeld 5,00
308 Trent Fernandes 4,20
308 Adam Deverell 4,20
310 John Sexton 4,00
358 Aaron Daniels 3,40
358 Benji Batten 3,40
358 Matthew Murgolo 3,00
358 Luke Radziminski 3,00
381 Cameron Toazell 2,80
381 Tom Nowacki 2,60
442 Marlon Faner 1,00
442 Alex Fleig 1,00
442 Braiden Graw 1,00
442 Mitchell Schroder 1,00

Thursday, 2 May 2013

Australian winner in Europe!

John Devaney, the organizer of the Lincoln Flickers Subbuteo Club in England, has recently announced he would love to play subbuteo for Australia has he is born in Australia and has lived there for many years. On wednesday John won the WASPA tournament in Lincoln, which will hopefully be the first of many other victories. Well done!
John Devaney, another flicking Aussie in Europe!

Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Steve Dettre wins in Penrith (Australia)

For the fifth time in less than a year, the Mega Games shop in Penrith hosted a subbuteo tournament under WASPA banner. This time 8 players were present and the event was played under swiss system. Steve Dettre won the tournament with 3 wins and 1 draw. Steve Dettre is a legend of table football as he was a Director int he FISTF Board in the early 90's. The rest of the table was as follows: 2. Eliot Kennedy ; 3. Paul Magee ; 4. Mike Newton (England) ; 5. Nick Drage ; 6. Brett Davis ; 7. Anthony Ilacqua ; 8. Jay Porter.